Help to choose right system and advice pls

Quantumm

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2007
Hello ladies, gents

Just a few questions:

I would really like to scrap my old system and start a fresh. My old system is a P4 2.66GHz processor, 1.5GB ram X800 Pro and to be honest its really poor now lol. I would like the new system to cope with

Games such as Crysis, Unreal III COD 4 etc etc. As I am a student studying for my MSc in Software Engineering i'm shourt of cash so my budget is £1000.00 thats like $2000.00 (this price excludes monitor). I was looking at the 8800GTX and INtel Quad core Extreme, but have no idea what to get really as the last system I put together was like 4+ years ago lol (have forgot much on hardware)

I was wondering if you people could:
1) Help me choose a system - if something new is about to hit the market please let me know
2) I am really really confused with this FSB for CPU's and motherboards and have no idea how it all works, could some one explain it in a nutshell for me?

Cheers

Core 2 Extreme isnt worth it (the difference between Extreme and non extreme is that extreme has unlocked multiplier)
for that price go for this:

Q6600
ASUS P5K-E or GIGABYTE P35 DS3R
8800GTX
4GB DDR2 800 RAM (Brands like OCZ, CORSAIR , GEIL, CRUCIAL)
500GB HDD(Brands like seagate or western digital)
OCZ GAMEXSTREAM 700/850WAT PSU
THERMALTAKE ARMOR CASE