1st time overclocker need a little guidance

cryptics

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2007
Hey guys I am new to overclocking and am using the guide that is stickied as my guide (thank you graysky). Please just help a noob out with a few question. :) I originally posted this on the thread for the guide but figured more people would see it here.

Ok Here is the background on what i have done so far and then I have some questions.

My system
Asus Maximus Formula
e6750
4gb (2x2gb) OCZ Reaper ddr800
Zalman 9700
2 x HD3870 GPU's in crossfire
Coolermaster Stacker 832

For the case I have the front fan as an intake and the three side fans as intake (cannot use the top left fan because the Zalman 9700 only has about a centimeter clearance). The top and rear fans are exhaust and the 2 gpu's both exhaust out the back.

I followed the guide and shut off everything you said to. I started by bringing the chip up to 375fsb with a 8x mulitplier. I then ran prime 95 for 12 hours with great results so I Stepped up 400fsb, 435fsb then finally 450fsb. The ram is set 1:1 so it is at 900 right now. Prime95 has been running for 8 hours so far and no errors. I have the core volt set to auto still as I have not fine tunned yet. It is reading 1.344v in cpuz on idle 1.328 on load. My temps are

Idle c1 28/ c2 32
Load c1 45 / c2 48 (average)

My questions
1. My goal all along was to get to 3.6ghz which i have now done. It seems like everything is going to pass but prime 995 is going to run for at least another 12 hours. With the temps in check still and everything stable should I try to push 3.8 or higher or am I getting greedy?

2. I have heard bad things about the ASUS monitoring tool as it appears to read the wrong temps and volts. I have watched this as it seems the only thing that reports my NB and SB but they jump all around 50 deg to 100deg then back to 48 in a span of a second. Is there a tool I can get that will accurately read them?