Sign in with
Your question

Radeon -- I've made a huge mistake

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 30, 2007 3:52:06 AM

//whine alert//

I've been assembling my own PCs for the last 15 years or so, and I must say that the Radeon 2900 XT is the biggest mistake I've ever made in that area. I've always been a little jaded to the longevity of high-end graphics cards, but this one really takes the cake.

About a month ago, I came to this forum reading/discussing the 2900XT. And eventually I did buy it for $400 USD. Expensive, sure. And I knew it wasn't going to stay "high-end" for more than a few weeks. But I figured it'll be good enough to serve as at least at or above mid-range status for the next 9 months or so. But how wrong I was!

Some 14 days after my purchase, out comes the 2900 Pro at $299. Basically an graphics card identical to the one I bought, but with a factory underclock. No biggie, I can live with that.

Another 14 days later, the 8800 GT just obliterates my 2900 XT at half the price. The benchmarks I've seen @(1600 x 1200 at max settings) puts the 2900 XT roughtly ~15 fps slower at nearly all games. Bioshock, Oblivion, Crysis, World in Conflict, everything. And since the 8800 GT defines the new level of mid-range graphics solution, that puts my 2900XT below midrange after only 30 days in my computer. I don't think my credit card statement has even arrived yet!

30 days ago, I had expected a new batch of high-end cards in 4th QTR 2007 to supercede the 2900XT / 8800 GTS. What I didn't expect was a new batch of $249 mid-range cards to obliterate the my $400 2900 XT.

Ugh. I hate whining. And I've always been aware that computer & electronics get old fairly quick. But I certainly didn't expect my $400 graphics card to become "below-midrange" after only 30 days. I was hoping my 2900XT would stay at or above midrange status until mid 2008, not 30 days...

October 30, 2007 3:54:21 AM

Return?
October 30, 2007 3:57:40 AM

Welcome to technology