Spince

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2007
well.. i guess i'm not a total newb but i'm a newb compared to most of you guys? lol. anyways! this'll be my first system built by myself. information: i don't really have a budget, as long as it's not some overly ridiculous amount. i'm a very very cheap person.

i play games, whatever my current computer can handle anyways... i use photoshop a lot and plan to use C4D (my current computer can't handle it.. *sigh*). i do realize that i don't require quad core, dual core is fine but i thought.. why not?

- Intel Quad core Q6700 (i want to get this because it's cheap, then maybe OC it for better performance, but i don't know how to OC so... QX6700? it's expensive...)
- Asus Striker Extreme
- Crucial BallistiX 2GB PC2-6400 Dual Channel DDR2 Kit (2 x 1GB). i need a lot of help on this one, i can't decide which ones to get.
- case: coolermaster stacker 830
- PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 650W Power Supply w/ Triple +12V
- HD 1: 2 of Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM SATA w/ NCQ, 16MB Cache set at raid 0
- HD 2: maybe a 750GB HD, like i said.. i'm very very cheap. i'm tempted to just wipe my OS off this HD and use the other 80GB i have.
- eVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, HDTV-Out (i was going to go for SLI, but i don't play enough games to actually need to go that hardcore and also i wanted to set up dual monitors and since SLI doesn't support that soo bye bye SLI)

that is it, hope you guys have some great input for me.. thanks in advance.
oh, and Memory Express (www.memoryexpress.com) ftw!

tlmck

Distinguished
You are very cheap yet you pick some of the most expensive components?