mr roboto

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2007
Hello all I'm new to Tom's forum and would like to take a moment to say that it's great to be here.
Ok so on to my question.

I just bought an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 about a month ago. I'm very satisfied with every aspect
of this chip.After doing months of research and reading reviews I am happy to find that this Processor
lives up to the hype of being an all around great performer.So when reading about the possibility of a
slight increase in performance and\or lower power consumption with the new G0 revisions I figured I
would try to grab one for my new build.I purchased and OEM version from the Tiger Direct outlet near
my house.On the back of the chip is imprinted SLACR which from what I've read is supposed to mark the
new G0 revision.When I first fired up CPU-Z it read G0.Ok cool, just what I was expecting right?.Checking
with the Intel PID utility it says B3.Hmmm..Thats weird. So I tried Crystal CPUID and it also reads B3.
Well one more try with Everest's CPUID and it reads G0.Core temp doesn't even display a revision which is
strange.Just updated to the newest P31 BIOS for my board and all programs are up to date too.
Not that the revision matters much because this thing overclocks like a champ and I'm really happy with it.
However I'm still curious to know if anyone has had anything similar happen to them with an Intel or AMD?
Here's a screen shot to go with it. Hopefully I'm Not missing something obvious :)

Thanks for any input you might have.

2qn8dn9.png

Intel Processor Finder (SLACR)
http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLACR

Wow. What are you using to get it to clock at 3.9GHz and only hit 44c?

As for you stepping, I don't like to buy OEM models of CPUs. But you know whats funny? I just decided to download and run Intels CPUID on my machine and even though I got a CPU in the box that had SLACR on it and CPU-Z states it is a G0 Intels states it is a B3.