e8400 and my Freezer 7 Pro/Intel in box fans

Blowback

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
I recently wired up a an e8400 with an arctic cooling freezer 7 pro on a DS3L. I noticed that my fan was not on and appeared to only turn on sporadically during boot (it was like it was trying to turn on but wouldn't). I thought it was defective so I put on the intel stock. It seems to operate more frequently but also appears to turn off if I let the computer sit.

I'm a noob and this is my first computer I have built but aren't the fans supposed to go at all time? Could it be that th e8400 is so cool that the temp control turns the fans off?

I'm totally perplexed. Trying to decide if I need to replace or return this heatsink or maybe could it be a problem with my board...

Any opinions?

Evilonigiri

Splendid
Jun 8, 2007
It's probably an option in the bios or something. When the temps are cold, the fan is suppose to spin real slow, but perhaps it isn't getting enough voltage.

As long as the fan spins up during load, it's fine.

Blowback

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
The Intel spins full almost all the time but the AC FP 7 seemed to only spin sporadically even during boot. It would spin for a second.. then stop... then spin a second.. then stop.. continuously.

gimper48

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2007
Return it. or sell it and get a better cooler. I love my tuniq, zalman 9700, and watercooling system. I will never ever buy another artic cooling freezer again. I broke the mounting pins 3 times. When I didn't break them it didn't cool any better than stock. Especially with the e8400 I have.

davedrave

Distinguished
May 23, 2007
i have the same HS and mobo with a e4400. there's nothing wrong with the fan it just isnt set up properly in bios, just go into your bios and in the 'health' section (can't remember exactly what its called) you can mess around with how the fan is powered/throttled there are diffrent combinations just try them till your hsf starts working properly

Silverion77