Need feedback on partial build

rpheckenkamp

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2007
Hey everyone,

I've never built a new system before so this is somewhat new to me. I'm wanting to spend up to about $1500 to build a gaming machine that will play Crysis and the others (you know them).

Anyway, this is only partial because I still need to look at what kind of HDD/DVD-RW drives I need to work with this motherboard. Also no case or PSU because those are easy enough to figure out. After I decide on the main parts, I can figure out what kind of PSU I need.

I don't want a quad core processor, so don't worry about that.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=6416892

aadamszc

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2007
Lots of views, no replies. I guess I will give it a go. Honestly, the way things are looking with out a pretty kick ass computer, Crysis is going to be hard.

Looks good unless you want to try an intel system.

You could try:
-Intel Core 2 Due E850 @ 3.0Ghz
-P35 D3SR Mobo

Add a good CPU cooler for the X2 6400+.

If you'd rather try Intel, I'd suggest E6750 (10% slower than the E6850 but much cheaper; a bit faster than the X2 6400+, much cooler, about the same price). GA-P35-DS3R or GA-P35-DS3L (the DS3L does not support RAID and is limited to 4 SATA devices and costs $30 less). If you go with the E6750 you can even overclock a bit without buying a CPU cooler.

Do you need a motherboard with SLI support? If yes, a good one would be Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus.

colwynstein

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2007
1 question, why do you not want to buy a quad core computer? the price you will pay for a e6600 is 142quid(English so using english prices) and the price for a q6600 is 158quid double the cores for 16 seems totally exceptable, plus crysis is a multi-threaded application and will use all your cores for physics, sound etc. So was just wondering why you didnt want to go for a quad core?

rpheckenkamp