Sign in with
Your question

Diamond Viper HD2900 XT 512 & VPU Crash

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 2, 2007 2:15:20 PM

It's my first time guys so be gentle.
I have read through a bunch of posts and found some very similar ones but not quite the same.
The issue is when I try to play Civ IV I get a VPU crash before i can actually play the game (I can get through the setup screens and splash screen, but exactly when it goes to load the map to play ..VPU crash)
The History:

Last year I knew I wanted A crossfire setup, so i purchased and installed:
MSI K9A Platinum V 1.0
AMD X2 3800+ 65W
ThermalTake Pure Power 750W (which at the time had an ATI logo on it)
Crucial Ballistix 1GB (2x512) PC6400 DDR2
ATI X1300Pro 256mb (manufactured by ATI)

I was happy and i left well enough alone.. until i ran 3dmark06 a few weeks ago and saw how crappy the system was compared to it's potential (and my 19" Acer wide screen would get those sparkleies at high resolution)

I did some research on ATI/AMD recomended products and ordered the following:
Diamond Viper HD2900XT 512
X2 65W 5000+ Black edition
Soundblaster Audigy 24bit
Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2x1024) PC6400 DDR2

I installed last night and it went a lot easier than i expected.
average Case and CPU temepture fluctuated between 40 - 45 C (according to the Bios on the reboots)

First I was an idiot and didn't uninstall the drivers. I wound up having to uninstall them twice.
(I read about a complete driver uninstaller on these posts that i will try tonight when i get home)
Other than that the system runs good enough for me. (although it is one of the lowest scores on (3Dmark)

The only problem I seem to have is a VPU crash when i try to play CIV IV.
Occasionaly it crashes bad enough to give me the BSOD for the ATI2DIAG (i think that's how it's spelled)
I think it's heat related but after reading some posts I wonder if it is possibly a bad card (or bad PSU)?