Sign in with
Your question

How to change SATA mode

Last response: in Storage
May 29, 2008 1:37:01 PM

How does one change the SATA mode for a drive, (2 actually)?

Here is the screenshots for how it looks:

http://www.seanoz.net/page7.html

Sean.

More about : change sata mode

May 29, 2008 2:01:20 PM

I've never used HDD Tune before. But changing UDMA modes would be in your BIOS I would think but I've only seen that as a changeable option for ATA 100 or ATA 133 devices; and all those were IDE devices. As long as your drives are running in SATA II mode then I wouldn't have thought you would need to worry about any further. I might download HDD Tune and check that **** out myself. I'm kinda interested in this now just in case there's something I'm missing lol.

--Arson94
May 29, 2008 2:13:24 PM

If the drives are SATAII did you make sure to remove the jumper off the back that limits it to SATAI speed?

Also does the motherboard support SATAII?
Related resources
May 29, 2008 8:34:23 PM

HD Tune is a great program, I have used it since day dot just to see the HDrive's temp and SMART status.

But seeing these issues with these drive's SATA speed was something I never noticed (or dealt with till recently).

I have another rig at work, which is also the same board, and it too is doing the same, reporting that they are running at ATA/100 not ATA/133.

Changing the BIOS makes little sense as it is in AUTO mode, and as you can see the K drive is running at full speed. But I will look more closely.

Seeing that the controller running the 2 ATA/100 drives was using the Gigiabyte's supplied Driver, and the ATA/133 was using the Standard Driver, changed them to the Standard driver as seen here www.seanoz.net/page7.html which worked but never changed the speed.

I never knew there was a jumper to break down the speed of a drive, I will look at that and check back.

Sean.

June 7, 2008 9:51:57 AM