Newb builder, have I made an 8800GTS mistake?

solidGoldstone

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2007
Hi guys,

Recently bought this spec -

core2duo 3.0ghz
8800GTS 320mb
abit ip35 pro
2gb ballistix ram

and I got a "low" score from 3D mark. I'm new to building and such and now everyone is telling me I shouldve bought the GT rather than the GTS.. I think I can still return the card as I only bought it last week, what does everyone think. Please see my attached image for my 3D mark results..

Many Thanks

Will

specresults.jpg

ShortRef

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
If possible, id recommend getting the GT instead

Those 3d mark results are virtually the same as mine (same card). The GT is better, although youd probably only see a visible difference in new games like crysis.

ramo

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2007
Did you install your DDR2 correctly?

The graph shows that your using slot 2 and 3

You should use slot1 and slot3

solidGoldstone

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2007
Slot 1 and 3? Oops, erm, well its in 2 slots next to each other, I did wonder as the slots are coloured (1)black, (2)blue, (3)black, (4)blue, but I put the 2 dimms in the first two slots. So should I put them in 1 and 3, so its black and black?

Sorry for being such a novice but if it says in my computer that I am running 2gb of ram, is this not working fine?