Basic Router Advice Needed

sleepyhead

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2005
I learned enough from this forum to build my current computer about 6 months back but, unfortunately, I am still a complete noob when it comes to routers and networks!

I could use some router advice from those of you kind enough to give it...

I have my main computer upstairs and just picked up a used Dell for my 5 year old son. I'd like to get internet access for him but don't want to network the computers together. I am currently using a high speed cable connection through Comcast. Can I get a router and run a CAT 5 cable downstairs to the Dell? I'm thinking of not going with a wireless router because the cable would be so easy to run directly below.

I could be wrong here, but would I connect my internet connection from my main PC to the cable modem to the router and then another CAT 5 cable from the router to the Dell downstairs? I have a pretty fast connection so is there any particular router that I would need to get to take advantage of the speed?

Also, I know that there are security issues that have to be taken care when setting up a wireless network but are there any issues that I need to be concerned with just 'hardwiring' rather than creating a network or going wireless?

If anyone can provide answers and clarification, it would be much appreciated! Also, any recommendations on which router to get would be great as well.

Thanks in advance,

-J

akhilles

Splendid
The easiest is still wired. Wireless isn't just plug-n-play. There are a few issues. Security & connectivity. XP/Vista can disconnect at random due to interference or those crap bundled wireless connection programs.

The correct setup is:

[DSL MODEM]-[ROUTER]=====[PCs]