Sign in with
Your question

Where To Start? (Programming)

Last response: in Work & Education
January 3, 2011 8:19:29 PM

Hello, I am currently in my final year of middle school and I will be entering high school next year either public or private. Afr that I am of to college, where I would get more experience with game design. I would like to be a programmer when I graduate but, to get there I need to learn and I would like to start learning now, I have some experience with C++ but not much. I make small basic games in Unity3D, I build PCs, and I make animations in AAE (After Effects). This is fun and such but I would like to start learning C++ and I would love if I could get some advice from some more professional programmers. Please share some knowledge of any good online courses or anything you have to share.

More about : start programming

January 16, 2011 9:37:34 PM

First learn a basic code html.

I know it is for the Internet, but it is basic. Then try to learn some C# then learn the rest of C++. That should take you about 8 years, 4 through HS, the rest through college.
January 17, 2011 4:17:25 AM

I'm going to stay to start with HTML and Visual Basic (VB). I looked up unity and while it seems great, I think its doing most of the work so your not learning coding. I doubt Unity3D is helping you learn code form, parameter passing, object making, etc. I'm not even a coder but I took classes in VB and Java (and SQL, but thats for databases not game programing.) in college as part of my business degree. I'm sure this is the start for many, so I'd start learning it as early as you can.
Related resources
January 17, 2011 3:04:01 PM

No, don't start with HTML. Bad! Starting with VB also teaches some bad habits.