Computer fails to boot after I click restart?

systemlord

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2006
I have been seeing some strange bios behavior lately. When I first turn on my computer sometimes right after POST I see bios image logo freeze with lots of colors that are distorted. Also sometimes when I click restart computer it just hangs and doesn't reboot my computer. When in bios menu I see the letters and the [ ] around the letters blink really fast. This all started when I upgraded my graphics card from my old 7800GTX to my new 8800GTX, might this be why all this is happenning?

hughyhunter

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
WEll I am no expert but it really doesnt sound like a software issue. What I would do is double check everything that you layed your hands on in when you swapped cards. Double check all connections even ones you know you didnt touch. Then after you do that and it still doesnt work unistall you new card and see if it boots with your old card. If it does boot with your old card then bring your power supply to a computer place where they can benchcheck it to make sure it is supplying efficient power... you should keep in mind that a new 8800GTX will suck up a way more power than your older 7800GTX. If they are sketchy about whether your PSU is supplying sufficient power then I would shotgun the PSU, buy a PC POWER and COOLING and you'll never look back.

systemlord

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2006

I already took my PSU to be benched, the reason I thought it was my PSU is in bios menu under "Hardware Monitoring" I saw all the voltage flucuations on my CPU Vcore, +3.3v rail and my +5v rail. My Enermax Infiniti 720W did very well under stress and all rails were solid. Sometimes my PC will lock up during Windows loading and other times it will hang after I select "restart" right before it begins to boot from bios. Any other suggestions?

hughyhunter

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007