How do I overclock my hard drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kmansj

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2005
My laptop is sluggish, and I was wondering if one could improve the system performance by overclocking the hard drive. How high (RPM) have you guys been able to get a regular 5400RPM drive without data loss? Would a 5400 have more headroom than a 7200? Also, do they have hard drives with unlocked multipliers?

I'm kind of new to this, so any help would be appreciated.

Kman

Uhhhhhhh huh have you looked into wiping your laptop and doing a reinstall without all that bloatware? and upgrate the memory etc? And dont expect much from a celeron/semperon etc.

You cant ove....... yes.. you can overclock a hdd, just run FDisk and let it.. do its work :whistle:

mike99

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2006
What Laptop? What spec? How much memory? What OS? If it's a Sony with Vista and 1 Gb RAM, it's loaded with loads of fancy unneeded items at startup. Clear them all out and you will see a big difference. Download HDRune to check your HD performance.

Mike.

royalcrown

Distinguished
You can't overclock a drive...and most laptop drives are 4200 rpm and or low power and that equals SLOOOOOOOOW. You can either reformat to clear off junk, replace the drive with a faster model, or live with it.

1971Rhino

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2008

You may want to explain what wiping is to this guy before he gets out the Windex!

He means reformating the hard drive and loading just the OS (Operating System)....Of course I'd be surprised if you even have an OS Disk....Most laptops have or have you make a recovery disk(s). Which wouldn't help because you'd be re-installing the "bloatware".