Sign in with
Your question

New server array, need help with RAID card

Last response: in Storage
June 22, 2008 3:55:20 PM

I'm new to RAID arrays and basically just know the differences between the different types of arrays and have chosen RAID 5 for my server build. This server will be basically a home file server/exchange server so I want a lot of fast storage. I was originally planning on just using the onboard RAID controller on the motherboard but instead got a few drives for dirt cheap so I have some money to spend on a hardware RAID controller. I am unaware of any sites that benchmark raid cards so I was wondering what are your suggestions. My budget is about $200-250.

Thanks guys,

Dan
Edit/Delete Message

More about : server array raid card

June 23, 2008 3:58:15 PM

What interface are you using? PCI? PCI Xpress? SATA HDs? Are all your drives the same brand and size?

For that price range you should have a pretty good set of choices for a card.
June 24, 2008 1:56:22 AM

I haven't purchased the motherboard yet so it really doesn't matter as far as PCIe or PCI-X. I'll be using 3x WD 500GB SATA drives. I am thinking about going with a Perc 5/i but I was wondering will it practically work in any motherboard that has a PCIe 4x slot?
Related resources
June 24, 2008 7:28:53 AM

The main thing is to make sure that the card you get doesn't do software RAID. It must have the XOR engine built into the card. AFAIK all motherboard RAID 5 is software... The Perc 5/i card looks pricey - I suggest have a look at Adaptec.

Me , being me :pt1cable: , I would question why you are going to that expense and trouble? Why not just go for RAID1? I struggle to see how a home server would benefit from RAID 5, I consider that you are adding additional cost for little benefit. IMHO!!! I'd run the drives in RAID 1 using the motherboard.

UD
June 24, 2008 8:23:40 PM