Yet another "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK..." thread

whocarezzz

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2007
so i'm an international student studying in UK
my uncle built me a gaming desktop ( with GF8800!! ) and i just received it yesterday

i've read another thread about this problem ( http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/225024-13-quot-disk-boot-failure-insert-system-disk-quot )
insightful but not very helpful though

so i'm trying to install win XP on this Western Digital HDD but it shows that disk boot failure message
i've tried a few different XP discs but no luck, so its probably not the problem of discs ( i even tried hiren boot disk )
i tried to boot with difference boot order ( HDD/DVDROM ), doesnt work
both the HDD and DVDROM are SATA by the way so no jumper setting

the bios setting has the on board IDE chanel 0 enabled ( i dunno what that means and what for ) so both HDD is in IDE chanel 2 Master and IDE chanel 3 for the DVDROM
both HDD and DVDROM are detected in BIOS so i assume they both are functioning well

its driving me crazy seriously!!
i wanna start playing games so bad and i've no idea whats wrong with my desktop!!
please help guys!! :cry:

Grimmy

Splendid
Feb 20, 2006
Let start from the beginning.

For one IDE channel with 2 devices, 1 will be a master, the other slave.

The other, you can use either CS (cable select) or master for 1 device. If there are 2, then the same will apply with one being master, the other slave.

In the bios, check for the bootup devices. You can set the 1st boot device as your CD-Rom or DVD. That should cause it to boot off the CD and start your XP installation.

Hope that helps some.

Edit:

Might want to be clear on the type of drive you have. Is it IDE or SATA or SATA2?

whocarezzz

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2007
first of all thanks for the fast reply

i'm pretty sure its a SATA2 drive

and i dont quite get this bit...