e6600 o/c temps

jamieb

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2007
Hi guys just need an educated answer on this as i'm still relatively new to overclocking. I have a e6600 running the stock hsf, it is rock solid at stock vcore at 3.06ghz/340fsb. Temps in both the latest versions of speedfan and core temp are 28 idle and 53 degrees at full load stress testing. Speedfan's reported cpu temp is 47. (Vcore 1.325)

Today i tried to reach 3.3ghz, and did so successfully with a vcore of 1.4125. Stress tested for 2 hours with no failure's. My temps in speedfan and core temp are now 32 degrees idle, 60 degrees full load. Speedfan says the cpu temp is 57 degrees. Is this ok or too high? I have read the core 2 duo temp guide but wanted to be sure before leaving my clock speed and vcore this high. As i mostly use my rig for gaming the processor is rarely at full load for any extended period. I am also unsure if i need to offset my temps in speedfan or not? Help and advice greatly appreciated.

raven_87

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2005
60C isnt threshold, but its a bit warm for my tastes. 2 hours isnt very long to be stress testing; If your going for something serious, its usually good to go 8 hours.

Remember the temp readouts your getting have a certain degree of being inaccurate.

edit; if you feel the temps are becoming unsuitable - its never a bad idea to invest in a new cooling unit.

jamieb

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2007
Thanks for your reply i have backed down to 3.1ghz for the time being, stable at a more reasonable 1.325vcore. After a 4 hour torture test temps are down at 55 degrees on the core's. I think a better cooler is the way forward.

CompuTronix

Intel Master
jamiebh, thanks for reading the Temp Guide. An Idle temperature of 32c Core at 1.4125 on the stock cooler is suspiciously cool. Also, your CPU Load temp and Core Load temps don't conform to the typical Tcase to Tjunction Delta of 15c for the E6600.

■Have you tried to calibrate your temperatures as shown in Section 8?