Your question

Newbie in need of help!

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
November 2, 2007 9:33:21 PM

Hello I'm new to the Tom's Hardware Forum and I'm wondering if I can get some help from some of the more experienced individuals on this forum about computers. I'm currently looking to build my very first own PC and I have a basic understanding of things inside the computer but there are still quite a number of things that elude me and I need help with. I'm a gamer, and I've done a lot of homework but I'm still confused about a few things. This is the PC I'm trying to make:

Motherboard:
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
CPU:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz LGA 775 (1333 MHz FSB):
Graphics Card:
x2 BFG Tech BFGR88768GTXOC2E GeForce 8800GTX 768MB:

The main problem I've been having is choosing a memory module. Through researching memory, I've only gotten confused. Some sources claim that the most important value when buying memory is the PC2xxxx value, others say that you solely want the number after DDR2 to be divisible by the FSB(ie: 1333 FSB:D DR2 667/DDR3 1333), and finally some say that the cas latency(the first number in the timings?) is the most important value; so as it stands I'm at a loss as to what memory to buy to get the best performance for my CPU. So I suppose in essence this is a plea to help me better understand memory in relation to building a new pc.

Also, if at all possible can anyone recommend a PSU for this particular setup? I plan to have a lot of fan cooling for this, but no overclocking if possible to further extend the life of my parts.

P.S. I know I sound like quite a newbie(and I am!) but I really wish to get down into building this PC and understanding it, possibly with you guys' help! Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any advice you can give me. Take care!

More about : newbie