What alternative to the 8800GT?

Kurse

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2006
Building a new PC for the first time in 5 years, want to play some new games. I'm not in a "rush", I wanted to build one ASAP but the 8800GT is nowhere to be found. Are there some cards to look for on the horizon? Or should I just wait until the 8800GT is in stock, if ever.

Thanks.

Kurse

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2006
I'm a newbie on graphics cards.

Which the issues on the 8800GT my build is dependent on a card. I can hold off until Nov 19th, or longer if need be, but not forever. But is it worth it?

Does this 2fps really make a difference? There is a more in depth study coming out on these results correct?

What i would do is wait for the card to be released and check some more in depth reviews and benchmarks then take your decision based on some more reliable info.
The ATI card will have DX10.1 and the Nvidea will have DX10.0, Whats the difference.
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/amd-hd-3800-dx-10,review-29720.html.
The thing that really swings it for me with the last review i sent you was how much better the picture quality was on the ATI card. The other thing is that with out knowing if they were using high settings/Anti Aliasing etc. Basically how the two cards were set up they may as well have made the numbers up.
With a more in depth review the cards will be set up as much like for like as the software will allow and be run through tests at different resolutions/detail levels and using different games so we will get a fuller view of both cards strengths and weaknesses.
Mactronix

chadwixx

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2006
Im in a very similar situation as you and may get a evga 8600 and use the step up program when more 8800gt are availible. Im not fond of ati due to past issues and their drivers.