First O/C problem I've ever had.

comzee

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2008
I've been running a stable clock on my PC for a couple months now. I decided it was time to reformat, so I did. After the reformat, XP stopped excepting my clock, (in a certain way.) This problem is odd. When I O/C and boot into XP the clock works fine and dandy like it always has. When I reboot, though, my CPU performance gets divided by 4 (rough estimation), severely hindering performance. My Bios doesn't reset my clock after reboot, XP and CPU-z are reporting a normal O/C as well. The performance is just whacked out. When I reset my CPU clocks to normal all is fine, when I O/C after I reset, it takes the new O/C, BUT only after the first boot! Then the problem persists after the second boot with the O/C I'm using.

Any help on this would be appreciated. Thanks in advance, also!

The CPU O/C I refer to is 367*9 (3303mhz). I have tested it to be a stable clock.

System Specifications.
CPU = Core 2 Duo E6600
Motherboard = Gigabyte 965P DS3 rev3.3
GFX = Evga 8800gts 640mb
Memory = 2dimm (1gb each) pc6400
PSU = 600w
Running XP pro SP2+

Thanatos421

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2007
Is it only after a warm boot this happens? If so, might be a weird PSU problem. If it does it after a cold boot as well, then I'm out of suggestions.

I used to have a weird grounding problem with my old Thunderbird 900. Sometimes only after a warm reset, it wouldn't post, or the USB wouldn't initialize. I finally tracked it down to the PSU as weird as that sounds. Who knows, got a spare laying around to play with?

comzee

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2008