I want to RAID 5...what do I need to know? is it worth it? newbie here

moomoopro

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2008
Well I want to use RAID 5 with my new 2k computer build as I heard it is the best RAID compared to the others. With RAID 5 you get both the speed and reliability. In Raid 0 you get the speed but you can lose data quickly. In Raid 1, you gain the reliability but you lose half your space(and lose speed i think?).

I was thinking about putting 3 of these wd 640gb hardrives together in raid 5. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136218

But I heard you need a controller(wtf?) to use raid 5...is that true?

What else do I need to know?

I also read somewhere that raid 5 isn't really praticial for consumers and if it would be better to use Raid 0+1 or something like that.

Anyone know raid here? I need help lol. I thought most motherboards come raid equipped? and if it matters i am thinking about doing this mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136042

rozar

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2007
Why do you want RAID? What are you hoping to gain with RAID? Yes RAID 5 will offer more throughput than a single drive but will have worse access times for instance. RAID 5 is mostly used for data redundancy so the failure of 1 drive will wipe out your data. If this is just a desktop PC you might want to do something different even if you do store valuable data on this system.

In my system I use a single drive to boot and load apps, and I also have a RAID 5 array for my important data. I also have a server with much more space on it but thats another story.

russki

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2006
Like rozar mentioned, you need to know precisely this:

Why you want RAID 5, or anything for that matter.

Is it just because you heard that it's "teh shiznit"?! In that case, google RAID 5, read up on it, understand what it gives you, and ask yourself if you need it. Also would be good to google pros / cons of it, or some such stuff.