Newbee: Need help building a home CAD system

CADPC

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2007
Hello all,

Need your guidance on putting a CAD PC together. I'm a CAD student and would like to build a PC workstation dedicated to CAD software. Autocad 3D, 3DSMAX, Revit, Inventor, others.....

I've been looking at the Dual CPU AMD socket 940 w/ the Opteron Italy 270HE, 275 WOF, or the 280. I've also been reading up on the TYAN and SUPERMICRO mobos. Video card, leaning toward the nVIDIA QUADRO 3000+ series. Stuffing these in the Antec P180B case.

I'm open to any and all suggestions from you experts out there. I haven't lock anything down yet. Any suggestion is great appreciated. Would a QUAD Core be better instead of two Dual Cores? Intel vs. AMD? XEON vs. OPTERON? Power supply recommendation? Antec, Enermax, Gigabyte (Odin), PC Power & cooling, Seasonic, etc.... Minimum power requirement recommendation? I figure that this PC will be number crunching intensive when in 3D animation.

This system will not be used for gaming. Strickly for CAD and 3d animation.

Thanks in advance for your kind support.

Ilander

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2007
Well, to be honest, I don't think a workstation graphics card is necessary for most CAD users these days...especially not architects and engineers. People who make their living doing computer-special effects? Maybe.

Autodesk's website, if you dig around deep enough, tells you that many, many people use modern "gaming" cards for CAD, and have no difficulty. Also, ATI (at least, up to the x19xx series, don't know about the HD2x00 series) certifies their mainstream cards for Autodesk-product use.

NVidia doesn't, but people (including Autodesk themselves) claim they work fine, as well.

What I hear is more important, though, is cores. Quad cores are the way to go, here, unless you want to purchase a dual 771 socket and run eight cores. Load the system up with as much RAM as you can (including video RAM), and you should be good to go.