Lapping a cpu and heatsink stages

iluvgillgill

Splendid
Jan 1, 2007
this is my first time trying to lap a cpu or a cooler.could please someone give some advice and warning to special care on certain stages of lapping.also if i cant find a piece of glass what can i use instead?Do i rub the cpu/heatsink on the sandpaper or sandpaper on cpu/cooler?

Thanks in advance!!!

Lupiron

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2008
You want anything totally straight and level, thats why they go with a glass pane. Semi-permanently attach a strip of sand paper graded for the proper stage, IE, coarse stuff to start, ending in a higher grade paper to get a nice mirror finish! You grip the corners of the processor and drag it one direction along the paper. Some people us some sort of fluid on the sand paper to make it glide smooth, spit will work, lol! But you just drag it over the sand paper in one direction, keeping in mind that you always wanna drag it LEVEL! So pick it straight up, move it to the end, set it straight down, apply pressure so it doesnt slip, and drag it slowly down the paper, then do that over and over! When the grain seems like its not removing mutch, you have to wipe it, and after a few mins, swap to a higher grain, 300, 450, 600 and 800 will work! So 4 stages. It gets all nice and shiny! Why didnt intel do that?

I dont know what everyone else would say, but the processor is not that fragile, hehe. You can damage it with something stupid like static, duh, but it doesnt seem to mind a little punishment. Me and my intel quads have been through alot! I have lapped my three quads, I have a phenom too, and 2 arctic squares. (Didnt lap the sphere cooler I have on the AMD quad, but only because I pretty much welded the sink to the processor on that frigging board! Had to make my own attachment!)