rufio45

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2007
Hello, I didn't know where to post this but it seems that here is the best place.

This is only my second post, after deciding that my Dell D9100 is kinda old for my new evga 8800GT KO (w00t shipped and gets here 11/14) I'm going to try to build a PC on my own, I live in mexico and prices/quality of stuff here is awefull (any C2D is 100 bucks more expensive than something bought in USA), so my only choice is to go to USA, 2hr drive but theres only a Best Buy and a CompUSA on the city I'm going to, and I've noticed you guys buy a lot from websites and Fry's (I've been to Austin's Fry's but that's way too far from here) so it seems my only choice is CompUSA, is it a good company? good quality/price? Would like some feedback if you have time :D

Also is there any forums on how to actually build (connect and stuff) a PC from zero? I'm a software developer (web) so I DO know stuff about computers, I just don't want to f*** up and end up frying my mobo or my sweet 8800GT.

Thank you for your answers in advance :D

gahleon

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2006
Well CompUSA sucks. I don't know of any other way to put it. However, the reasoning in which is sucks for Americans is price. You can get a way better deal at newegg. I would check out the website. www.newegg.com and even call them to see if they do international shipping especially in your case. Hell the shipping charge will be negated anyway considering the markup on the compusa stuff. Not to mention they don't always have the best stuff. Like many retail stores it is struggling to keep up with the internet warehouses like newegg so they end up buying generic stuff and stamping their names on it so they can have a high gross margin.