Sign in with
Your question

Broken AGP Port, or defective card? (GeForce FX5700)

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 19, 2007 3:49:08 AM

I recently got a few new games for which my graphics card was woefully obsolete, so I was going to replace it. However, I didn't know what model it was, so I took it out to read any of the little stickers telling me what it was, but being a newbie I didn't realize there was a clip keeping it in place. I sort of yanked it a few times before I noticed the clip, then took it out like I was supposed I put it back, hooked everything back up. I turned the computer on and heard a pop, followed by that burning-microchip smell. Then, even though the computer and hard drives sounded like they booted normally, my monitor still had the "Please Check Signal" screen. I didn't see any marks, burn or otherwise, on the connectors of the card. So that's as far as I know is that the graphics card is at fault.

I ordered a 128MB PNY GeForce FX-5700 from Compuvest.us. It arrived, I installed it and turned the computer on. When I pushed the power button I saw the card's fan jerk back, but it didn't start spinning, even though the rest of the computer seemed to start normally (I kept the side panel off to make sure it worked). I sent it back as defective, and they tested it as such, and sent me another one.

The second one they sent me was much better packaged, marked as fragile and bundled up in bubble wrap and foam. So, I installed it, and turned the computer on--- same thing happened. Fan doesn't even twitch, but the rest of the computer starts normally (?). I get the "Please Check Signal" thing again.

So my question is, what's at fault? Did I get another defective card, even though it was much better packaged and allegedly tested as working? Or did I mess up my motherboard's AGP slot when I yanked the old card out with the clip still in place?

Thanks for any advice.
a b U Graphics card
November 19, 2007 4:01:27 AM

thisis200 said: