Novice needs help with games development build

CG_Gordon

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2007
My laptop has just died, and my trusty Athalon desktop (bought in 2002) is no longer up to the job. I work as a character artist in the games industry, so the machine will be used for photoshop, 3DSmax, and Zbrush work. I need it to render fast (which I think uses the CPU) but more importantly I need good realtime viewport performance (GPU?) especially when using advanced pixel shaders with direct x. I don't need a monitor or keyboard and mouse etc, just the PC internals ( I have an aluminum case). Any suggestions on parts would be excellent, I haven't a clue about what to get, this is what I have shortlisted so far:

Asus P5B Deluxe motherboard
Quad-Core Q6600
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Nvidia 8600GT
2GB RAM (upgrade to 4GB shortly afterwards)
400 GB WD HDD
520W Corsair HX

I'm trying to keep to a £500 budget ($1050)

Not sure if Vista is worthwhile at this point, but from what I can gather from these XP64 has its advantages with 3D programs? I would like to take advantage of the added RAM with Vista though.

After doing a little bit of searching around I've noticed the new Q9300 is due out quite soon, is it worth waiting for?

Haven't done a build for ages so I'm probably miles off with this kit so far, could really use some advice!

Dahak

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2006
For the most part,your system seems quite adequit.As for going with VISTA,I would say Not at the moment.Stick with XP PRO.Just make sure you have a decent graphics card.I was going to suggest a workstation option,but then I noticed the under 500 dollars thing.Go with what you have.Or,spend a few dollars more and get an 8800GT.That is worth the extra dollars.Goodluck.

Dahak

M2N32-SLI DELUXE WE
X2 5600+ STOCK (2.8GHZ)
2X1GIG DDR2 800 IN DC MODE
TOUGHPOWER 850WATT PSU
EVGA 7950 GX2 550/1400
SMILIDON RAIDMAX GAMING CASE
ACER 22IN WS LCD 1680X1050
250GIG HD/320GIG HD
G5 GAMING MOUSE
LOGITECH Z-5500 5.1 SURROUND SYSTEM