upgrade advice please!

Guido The Tiger

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2007
I would love to buy the latest graphic card with all the bells and whistles but unfortunately Im on a tight budget and really have to improve my system step-by-step!
I currently have a PNY Verto GeForce FX5500 (AGP) 128mb card, the system this runs on is a DFL Lanparty nf3 UT 250GB board, 512MB DDR400 PC3200 RAM, 2x Western Digital 80GB HDD etc etc
I have been using the FX5500 for a couple of years (I bought 2nd hand!) and want to upgrade to something else (I will also be buying used - thank god for ebay!) I also plan on putting in another 512MB of the same RAM
all that said I would simply like to know what is a viable and reasonable upgrade for my graphic card?
I would like to stay with Nvidia as I like my experiences so far, and ebay is full of cards with specs that mean absolutely nothing at all to me! I dont play anything new in the way of games (Tiger Woods 2006 is about my most recent game!)
my head is spinning with MHz & pipelines & ramdacs & 128 bit!
all the web comparison sites (including TH!) seem to focus only on new cards or at least recent ones
for instance right now on ebay I am watching a FX5900 128mb, a FX6200 256mb & a radeon 9700 pro 128mb, amongst others!!!
just an idea of how one card is better than another card would really help me :)
I cant even be sure I am right in thinking a higher number actually means a better card? ie. FX5900 is better than FX5500 etc etc?
any help would be appreciated
thanks!
oh I should say I have used Nvidia Ntune to fine tune my system which as overclocked? the card to AGP bus 71MHz (was 66), GPU core 301MHz (was 270) & GPU clock 401MHz (was 400 I think?) I would like to overclock any replacement card but its not a vital part of whatever card I get
thanks again

cleeve

Illustrious
On the cheap, the best used AGP cards for the money are probably the Geforce 6800 GTs out there.