Sign in with
Your question

NAS VS home server

Last response: in Storage
July 31, 2008 9:04:11 AM

I'm looking for a multi-purpose storage solution for back-up and storage kind of thing. I'm wondering what are the advantages to the two different systems, a NAS compared to a cheap low power server, something like an atom. 4 disk NAS seem to be pretty pricey so I'm wondering what is the advantage of them? I'm thinking that the home server could be cheaper but not sure about energy costs.

More about : nas home server

July 31, 2008 11:47:28 AM

if you have a old PC or build a cheap one for use as a server and use Windows home server.. they have bugs worked out now with the release of the power pack. you can get this at newegg for 150.00.... i have been using this for about 6 months and i really like it. it backs up auto for you and can restore from server. easy to add disk to and enlarge as you need to.. lokk at doing something like this is what i would do.
July 31, 2008 11:50:48 AM

dont know about engery use but would think server uses more but it can do so much more
Related resources
a b G Storage
July 31, 2008 12:53:56 PM

For a back-up and storage solution, a NAS is more of what you are lookinf for. I highly recommend you check out Freenas.org and Openfiler.com.

There is no reason to pay for a NAS operating system, especially when a free one is available that is more stable and as well supported as anything that M$ has to offer.

With previous gen parts and a good hardware RAID controller card, you can build a top-notch NAS at a very reasonable price. Whatever you don't have can easily be supplemented by used parts from Ebay or by snagging cheap parts on sale.

I recently built a NAS using FreeNAS as the OS. FreeNAS is so small and uses so little of system resources that I was able to load the OS onto a Compact Flash card. Intel makes a 35W celeron keep power requirements low. Here are the minimum hardware requirements for FreeNAS...
A PC with [b said: