In the year 2000.......DDR3 will.....

destro

Distinguished
May 14, 2004
I'm working on building a new system, but I am new to over clocking and want some insight. I don't want to start out overclocking anything.....I want strong performance from stock speeds, but I want to be able to progress into overclocking when I'm ready. The system will be watercooled from the start so I want to over clock, I can.....but some newbie questions need to be answered first......

1) Can I over clock my processor without overclocking the ram? or do I need to do both?

2) Is DDR3 a form of memory standard or just overclocked DDR2 memory?

3) Are stock speeds of DDR3 worth the money in comparison to DDR2? or does DDR3 get its real performance from being overclocked?

Evilonigiri

Splendid
Jun 8, 2007
1.) Yes, but that depends on the motherboard. I don't see why you can't just set the fsb to ram ratio to 1:1 and lax the timings though. Read the OCing guide here for more info.

2.) DDR3 is the new ram, different from DDR2. DDR3 is better, however the price is way to expensive so stick with DDR2 instead, which performs closely.

3.) Just get DDR2. Unless you're a hard core OCer and get expensive ram, you won't notice the difference in speed.

Perp

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2008
Watercooling is far to expensive to be used in running your gear at stock speeds.

1. No and yes. (No) You overclock a processor by increasing the front side bus which is essentially overclocking your motherboard, but it changes both the processor speed and the ram speed. (Yes) You can remove the effects of increasing the front side buss by changing the memory divider. As Evilonigiri says, go read some guides for general information on overclocking.

2. DDR3 doesn't represent anything new in terms of function and is merely an upgrade in the chips on the PCB, DDR3 is a new standard, runs at lower voltages and will not fit in DDR2 slots.