Building new system - Advice needed

white comet

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2007
:hello: Hello everyone, First post here^^. I've been reading many of the product reviews here before finally deciding to build a new system and join this forum :D

A bit of history: my last built PC was sold around 2 years ago, so it would be at least 3 years+ since I last built a computer. I've been using my Asus G1 for the last 2 years and I'm starting to think that my laptop can't catch up with the latest games. Like Crysis as an example, though I never tried playing it on my laptop...will try soon.

First off, I bought a system on an online forum for almost 700 CDN including shipping. Here's the specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz CPU
ASUS P5K Motherboard
Kingstan 2x1GB Dual-Channel 667MHz DDR2 RAM
Western Digital 320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD
Card Reader
LG 20x Dual-layer SATA DVD+/-RW
ASUS EN8600GT w/ HDMI support
CoolerMaster 550W Power Supply
Logitech EX110 keyboard+mouse
Logitech X-240 speakers
Case: 666 CSA/BK
Vista Home Premium DVD

This system was originally purchase for a family member, but I just realized that their computer actually is not bad. So, I am deciding to take out some stuff and transfer it to my family member's computer, which is:

1. The Kingston ram
2. WD Harddrive (Maybe)
3. DVD Writer
4. Card Reader
5. Video Card
6. Speakers

Everything else, I would be keeping and I would get some money back too^^

Now, this is what remains:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz CPU
Motherboard: ASUS P5K
Power Supply: CoolerMaster 550W Power Supply
Western Digital 320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD (Maybe)
Peripherals: Logitech EX110 keyboard+mouse
Case: 666 CSA/BK
Software: Vista Home Premium DVD

Case wise, I have no idea what it is. This machine would be used mainly for gaming (Crysis) and watching videos and maybe some Photoshop. How does the rest of the parts in the above look?