Article: "PC airflow and heat - a cooling guide"

http://icrontic.com/articles/pc_airflow_heat_cooling_guide

I thought this was interesting. I am a mechanical engineer (but not an expert in heat transfer). The most effective cooling should occur when you have the highest air velocity through the CPU HS. If you have excessive exhaust ports, you could be reducing this velocity. I would guess that having a good HS and powerful HS fan would be the most effective way to cool the CPU (rather than having a sophisticated case fan setup).

Thoughts?
5 answers Last reply
More about article airflow heat cooling guide
  1. Well, I would agree to a point. I think that, while having a supreme HSF combo is important, the jetstream within the case is very influential also. I agree that having a bazillion fans going every which-a-way can actually be counterproductive and even hinder the effectiveness of any HSF combo, having a goof directional flow and the least amount of obstruction to this flow is key.

People sometimes underestimate the importance of good wiring (cabling) in a case. Having a clear path for the air is defintely important. Then, if you can draw air from the front (down low) and, perhaps from the sides (say, directly on the GPU and additional intake) and draw (and exhaust it) through fans located on the upper half of the case (on top and rear) you would be draw heated air from its most natural position (in addition to drawing air over the HSF combo).

The article gave some very good points but I think it lacked in that it did not mention anything about cabling. Also, that case, as it was shown, is very barebones. nowadays, rigs are set up with one (or two or more) oversized videocards, sound card, TV Tuner cards, etc. Then, there are two (or more) HDDs and God knows whatever so the inside of the case can be alot mroe clutterred than the article gave allowances for.
  2. IDE really blocked a ton of air when not rounded. Thank god for SATAs.