Sign in with
Your question

Help with my e6750 overclock please....

Last response: in Overclocking
March 21, 2008 7:34:29 PM

I guess I'm what you would call a noob here, and I was hoping someone could give me a hand...

I recently purchased a new computer, and after doing a lot of reading and debating, I decided to experiment with overclocking. I've currently got my e6750 running at 3.4 ghz, and I'm pretty happy with that speed, but I think it can go higher.

I have my FSB set to 425 with a multiplier of 8 and my memory is at a 1:1 ratio. It passed memtest 3 times without errors and ran orthos without problems for 18 hours, so it seems pretty stable at these settings. If I try to go much higher, though, stability becomes an issue and it won't pass memtest (fails at test 4), though it will boot into Vista at both 3.5 and 3.6 ghz (and fail orthos in under 10 seconds).

So I admit, my memory is cheap; the cheapest 2 gig sticks of pc6400 memory I could find. It seems as though this is my limiting factor, but I'd like to hear any advice from some of the pros around here that may help me push it higher.

Right now, aside from the memory being at a 1:1 ratio with 5-5-5-15 timings, it is running at 2.2 volts in bios (vdroop on this board takes it to 2.0 under load in Vista 64) and I had to raise the TRFC from 36 to 40 to acheive stability. Neither raising volts or loosening timings any further seems to help with stability, so it may be a lost cause to try for higher, but again, if anyone has any tips, I'd appreciate it.

My vcore at these settings is at 1.35 volts in bios, with both northbridge and FSB vtt set to auto under voltages. EIST is enabled (though I disable it when going for higher clocks), and temps in speedfan (with the 15 degree offsets) register about 26 at idle and @ 57 -58 average under load.

Here is my rig:
E6750 @ 3.4 GHZ
TRUE 120 with Scythe Kaze Jyuni fan
MSI P35 Neo mobo
8 GB super talent PC6400 memory 1:1, 5-5-5-15
Hitachi 320 GB HDD