GTX Gaming Rig Squeezed into a Mini PC Box - Worth it?

amirisme

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2007
Hey there! If you haven't noticed, I asked a few days ago regarding a new gaming rig. Well, i've been reading through some magazines an an article hit me like a rock. I'm studying overseas and im building a pc before i go. So, since i gotta ship a pc out, why dun i just get a MINI PC? Albeit one that can handle games....

So, heres the spec sheet:

Intel Quad Core Q6600 (2.4Ghz)
Gigabyte G33M-DS2R
Gigabyte 8800GTX 768MB DDR3
Thermaltake LanBox Lite with side window
Corsair Twin 2X 1024-6400C4 2GB with DHX Cooling Fins
WD WD7500KS 750GB
Samsung 20X SATA DVDRW
Logitech G9
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Samsung 931BW 19" Wide
Thermaltake BlueOrb FX
Corsair HX 520W

For those who seen my previous post, the specs should look familliar. With the reduced cost of the motherboard, i figured i put in a GTX and get a smaller screen so can get better frame rates by sacrificing same resos (dun really mind getting a 19" as long as its better performing). The case fits a GTX, but id have to sacrifice 1 hard drive slot, so thats why theres only one 750GB there. For future expansion, I could always use eSata drives. Probably WILL get one if i go with THIS setup

The thing i want to ask is.... IS there SOMETHING im not seeing here? Is the cooling going to be such a BIG issue with everything cramped up so closely together? All comments welcomed!!!

wmtp03

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2007
I myself have a Lanbox (the regular version, not the Lite), and I have to say, it's not much of a "Mini" PC. It's a little smaller and more of a cube form factor than a regular case, but it's a lot bigger than I expected. The ability to use standard parts is nice, though.