Sign in with
Your question

dvd -> hdd conversion

Last response: in Storage
August 10, 2008 12:16:20 PM

I want to convert all my DVD to a format I can store on my HDD for my mediacenter to access.
Those movies you can download at say torrent comes with files with subs to them, I would like that too, so in short.

1. convert dvd to hdd in a codec that amd 780g can hardware decode would be great if possible
2. rip the subs as well, can cyberlinks dvd player v.8 use those? how?
3. what program can rip both the video and the text?
4. is there anything in the 780g chipset that can hardware encode these things? or would a gfx like 4870 be able to do so? with what program?

hope someone can help with this, I am really new to this ripping dvds (it is legal to do so where I live as long as I own the dvd)

More about : dvd hdd conversion

a b G Storage
August 10, 2008 1:07:45 PM

Most rips out in torrent land are in xvid/avi format....these are easily played with codec packs you get off the net.
Divix codec for windows allows you to play these movies through media player in full screen,widescreen and full 5.1 audio.

For ripping in the formats listed above you need a full version of divix...www.divix.com
or you can try and find one on the torrent sites.
when all is said and done you'll take a 4GB dvd and it'll rip to a 700MB file.
That's 1/6th the size of the original dvd and the quality is the same!
I don't do much ripping myself but you should practice ripping when you get the software to perfect the quality and features you want for your collection..
Hope this helps...
August 10, 2008 1:28:22 PM

Alright time for a crash course in DVD ripping/converting. Those denoted with "*" are my personal choices

1.) Semantics
  • Ripping: Copying the DVD files to your HDD
  • Encoding: Transcoding (converting) the DVD files to another (more efficient format)

2.) Formats
  • MPEG2 (DVDs native format ".vob")
  • MPEG4 part 2 (Advanced Simple Profile)
    (a) Xvid (open source)