Hard drives for new system

Physicz

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2008
hi, im new to THIS part of the forums, i really dont know anything about harddrives,

so i need your guys's help :hello:

im a REALLY big user of photoshop, bryce, fl studio, roadrunner, acid, flash, fireworks, lightroom etx you get the point.

i do A LOT of photoediting, music creation, video creation/editing so i need a hell of a lot of storage space.

so i need a few hard drives that i can use to store all this data.

been hearing good stuff from i think its the wd640??? :??:

i have around 400$ extra for hard drives, so what do you guys think i should get?

right now i have a pc power and cooling 750 silencer

with

asus Striker II forumla
core2 quad Q9450
Sunbeamtech corecontact freezer w/ scyther s-flex
4gbs crucial ballistix ddr2 800 at 4-4-4-12
Radeon 4870
X-fi fatality titanium (got it for free so whatever hahaha)
and a killer NIC card i got for free.
my case is a NZXT Tempest with red neon everywhere :D

chookman

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2007
with $400 and the tasks you do id look at a Velociraptor for quick access times while working with then a big drive ie the 640gb you are looking at for storage and backup. Could even look at RAID-0 for faster access but i dont think it would be worth it.

royalcrown

Distinguished
I have the 640 and love it...

hdtune.png

talaash

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2006

I hope I am not being rude but thats not exactly fast. I originally had some issues with the Samsung HD753LJ but even set at 1.5Gbps this is what I get:

[img=http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/4761/hdtunebenchmarksamsunghvc8.th.png]

In terms of dollars per gigabyte, its the cheapest in the range of 640-750GB. And when I allowed the full 3.0Gbps it have me a burst of 240MB/s with averge of 110MB/s and minimum of 86MB/s.

xxjudgmentxx

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2006

you arent using the same version of HDTune so the results are going to be comparable