Sign in with
Your question

Yet another "building a new system" thread

Last response: in Systems
November 19, 2007 7:26:44 AM

Alright, so. Brief bit of background. I've never built my own rig before, and usually just fork my money over to Dell when it comes time for an upgrade. It's more or less that time now - though Crysis plays a shameful part in that calculation - and after having it born upon me that the $3000 system I was drooling over could be built for a little more than half that, I decided to give putting together my own a shot.

Here's what I initially came up with after a lot of researching and agonizing:

Asus P5N32-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
Intel C2D E6850
4GB (2x2) G.Skill DDR2
Either 2x8800GT or 8800GTX
Storage, sound card, etc.
And of course, Vista x64

I was all set on this particular set-up, and then I happened to come across some threads concerning the 680i mobos' inability to work with the new quad core chips out of Intel, Penryn or whatever it's called. Plus, 680is seem like they've been on the block for a while now, and the motherboard's one of the things I'd rather end up not having to upgrade six months down the line.

That's half the goal of this new system, by the way; future-proofing as much as I can on what I can, and having stuff that'll be good enough to work for the next six months or a year for the rest. Now I'm giving serious thought to dumping the SLI notion and just going with an 8800GTX right out of the gate, or even just a single GT, and waiting to see what nVidia's got around the corner, and therefore getting a newer mobo, and maybe even going with that quad core processor, the Q6600, with an eye towards picking up a newer quad core when they come down in price.