Raid disappears after xp install. Present in bios gone after install?

boomhowar

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2008
This is my first raid so i'm still learning. I've searched the forums and have googled my question but can't find an answer. My problem is that my raid seems to disappear after xp install.

Here are my specs:
Motherboard p5mt-m (http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?modelname=P5MT-M&SLanguage=en-us)
p4 3ghz
1gb ecc kingston
2 80gb seagate barracuda SATA
windows xp

I've selected RAID and on board serial-ata bootrom in the bios as instructed in the manual in the above link. The computer boots and I can enter the raid configuration menus by pressing control - m and I set up the raid to raid 1 and both drives indicate they are online.

I don't have access to a floppy so I've downloaded the two raid drivers from above link (82801 GR/GH SATA Raid + LSI MEGARAID) and I've slipstreamed them into my xp cd with nlite.

I boot to xp install and am able to select only one present 80gb hard drive to install windows on (so as of now the raid is seemingly set up correctly as the install only sees one hd). I install windows and I can see the status indicator lights on each of my hard drives working in sync. During post the RAID controller also reports that both HD's are online and working.

Here's the problem: after install when I log into windows, xp sees both hard drives as C: and D:, drive C has used 3gb of data and drive D has used 1.5gb of data. WHAT HAPPENED TO MY RAID?! I know both drives were formated before install so during install my raid worked for first 1.5gb of transfer?

I have repeated this scenario 3 times with same effect. What gives? What am I doing wrong? How can raid be present in bios and xp installation and then gone after install?

SomeJoe7777

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2006
1. The LSI drivers should not be necessary - your motherboard manual makes no mention of any LSI controller.