Sign in with
Your question

8800GT - Potential noise and overheating problems?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 27, 2007 9:31:14 PM

Hi, I'm a complete noob to the world of PC hardware upgrades so please bear with me!

I'm looking at upgrading my hopeless X1650 SE to an 8800GT but have a few questions before I decide to do the deed. I have one of these machines: http://www.ciao.co.uk/HP_Pavilion_Media_Center_TV_m7775_uk_a_Core_2_Duo_E6600_2_4_GHz__6654999

I'm pretty near settled on upping the supplied 300W PSU to a Corsair HX Series 620W to accommodate the graphics card, despite not having the greatest confidence!

Now my biggest concerns are noise levels and overheating. I'm not planning on overclocking (although if I was to buy a BFG 8800GT I realise they come overclocked), so should the stock fan be substantial? Also, as I live in a shared house I can't have high noise levels either, I'd really want it to be as silent as possible. Does anyone know how the noise levels of an 8800GT compare to an X1650 SE?

If I've missed anything you need to know in order to help then please feel free to ask!

Cheers guys!
November 27, 2007 9:40:51 PM

noise levels not really high enough to bother you. Stock cooling should be good. Obviously it depends on your enviroment as welll. If you live in middle earth let's say... you gonna have the problem
November 27, 2007 9:49:58 PM

Lol, nope I'm not on Middle-Earth.

I ran Speedfan earlier which told me my processors were running at 36C, although that wasn't after any gaming. Are my temperatures likely to jump with the 8800GT?
Related resources
November 27, 2007 10:19:00 PM