E6750/Gigabyte P35-DS3L overclock issues. Please help!

Mike714312

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2008
before anyone yells at me to read the sticky how-to... i already have. multiple times. Please don't point me there.

I'm new to overclocking and this is my first desktop (had a dell laptop before.) I got the E6750 cause i read all these reviews about getting to 3.3GHz with no problems at all (and even higher up to 3.6!!!). My motherboard is a Gigabyte P35-DS3L and i have G-skill DDR2-800. My issue is that i can't OC over 3.0GHz. completely frustrating. I can boot up at 3.3 but prime 95 fails immediately. I went through the newbie's OC-ing guide multiple times and i have all the power-saving settings disabled. My multiplier is 8x413 with a 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio so the ram is at 826MHz. I have my core voltage at the "normal" 1.35. I've tried increasing the DDR2 voltage +0.1 to 1.9v and that didn't help. (g-skill specs are 1.8-1.9). I have also tried all 3 performance enhance settings (standard, turbo, and extreme(what do these even do? the board manual isn't helpful at all)) all without any luck. My RAM timings are stock/loose at 5-5-5-15. worst of all is that if i set my core voltage to "Auto", CPU-Z reads it as 1.408!! adjusting back to what BIOS would say (assuming its linear and using the "normal" vcore(1.35) at 2.66GHz speed (reads 1.312 in CPU-Z and 1.35 in BIOS) it translates to a 1.4488V! Its completely disheartening that some people are running 3.5GHz on LESS than "normal" core voltage and i can't get mine past 3.0GHz without a huge bump! Is there anyone that can point me in the right direction as to what is going on? Again its an Intel E6750(2.66GHz, VID=1.35) in a Gigabyte P35-DS3L (BIOS version F7) along with 2x 2GB G-Skill DDR2-800. PSU is a OCZ Game Xstream 700W and an EVGA 8800GTS(320MB). Also i'm running XP Pro (32-Bit) with SP2. ( I had XP Pro x64 and it wasn't OC-ing right so I though maybe it had something to do with windows... guess not.)