new build - all comments welcome

davun

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2007
Hey everyone,

it's finally time for me to finally build a proper system. I use the computer a lot - I'm a programmer professionally, and also am a huge gaming / music / movie fan. However I've never had the computer I've really wanted, and this is the first time I can do things the right way.

My budget is between $2,000 - $3,000. I am happy to spend money on something that is worth it, however I do not want to throw money away. I would like a system that is a very good - great performer at this time, and easy to upgrade within reason over the next 2 years at least. For example I'm quite sure I will pick up an 8800GT card in the next week or two, and upgrade that to a next-gen nVidia super-card next Feb/March - I see no point in purchasing an 8800 ultra when they're about to be superseded.

I have in the last couple weeks done a fair bit of research, and I'm quite sure the following parts are compatible. I would like to overclock the Q6600 up to between 3.0 and 3.2 GHz, so I have chosen the Zalman PSU cooler, which will fit in the case and not be too heavy. I am not considering any other OC.

My weakest level of knowledge is regarding the PSU, however I have read only good things about the Corsair.

I'm going to have a 150Gb Raptor as the primary drive, and 2X500Gb backup drives; 1TB. The Samsung drives are so cheap! The only thing holding me back from buying more of them (2TB, 3TB...) is I actually don't need such storage at this point, but it is so tempting.

I already own Microsoft XP Pro (32 bit), and will user this on the new system. I'm definitely not wanting to get Vista.

My main questions are:
* am I missing anthing?
* will anything in my list not be compatible
* does anything in my list have known gotchas, for example 150+ page threads online of issues, which I found for a certain sound card
* would you suggest a different part, and for what reason (quality/budget ratio in mind)