Sign in with
Your question

$1000 new build with longterm use in mind

Last response: in Systems
November 23, 2007 12:58:01 AM

I have budget of about a thousand dollars to build a new system. The unique thing here is that I need this computer to last me ~5 years while I finish up grad school. A lot can change in 5 years so I was hoping you could all get out your crystal balls and help me get the most for my money.

I guess I should explain while I am willing to buy unnecessary hardware now, but then want it to last five years. Its simple really, other peoples money. I am a grad student trying to support a family on my stipend, but I have a fellowship with a little money that I can use to buy a computer. But once that money is spent i won't have the money to buy a new computer (or even do serious upgrades) until I graduate and get a real job.

Here are my thoughts so far:

Core 2 Quad Q6600 (right now going with a quad gets me almost no advantage over a dual core unit, but I'm hoping that multi-threaded programing is the way of the future and that in a year or two having the extra cores will pay off)

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L (seems like a good solid board)
2x 2x 1GB PDP Patriot Extreme Performance PC2-6400 Low Latency (4 GB total in four chips)
Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD±R DVD Burner
2 x Western Digital Caviar RE2 WD5000YS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

I'm a little torn on the graphics card, part of me says go with the 8800GT, but I don't play games that much (nor does my wife like me playing violent video games) and it seems overkill for everything else. Of course overkill now may pay off in a few years.

I would like recommendations on case, power supply and fan. Again I'm not planning on overclocking, but getting a rig capable of the stress of overclocking seems like it would help make sure it will last. I would like something kinda quiet, but longevity and performance comes first.