Epic System Troubleshooting

cmc242

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2007
Greetings Forum Denizens,

Like many others, I have come to Tom's Hardware to plead for help with a PC problem that's far beyond my own abilities. For two months I have worked at this PC build, which would be my first gaming machine since high school, and only now am I ready to admit that I can't fix it on my own. Not easily do I admit this, for I am a graduate of an electrical and computer engineering program at a good university. I won't bore you with tales of my past hardware exploits, I just want you to know that whoever solves this problem earns enough Tech-XP to gain two levels and gets to loot a high-level nerd corpse.

~~The Problem~~

The system has, on several occasions, been stable enough to install an OS (WinXP SP2 and Ubuntu 7.10) and get several hours of WoW or Oblivion in. After running for a few hours, I would power down the machine. On the next morning, the machine sucks and dies. The machine might suck and die on several boot attempts and then run flawlessly for as many hours as I care to leave it on, but over a few sessions the odds of "suck and die" seem to go up a lot, and it always ends in BIOS Corruption.

"Suck and die" is a somewhat general term that refers to
(1) no POST at all, possibly with no Video signal
(2) POST, but lock up before loading OS, possibly as I'm trying to configure the BIOS
(3) freeze while loading OS, possibly with WinXP Stop Error (usually IRQ related, sometimes pointing to a .dll) or a Linux kernel panic notice
(4) OS loads and I log in, but freeze or crash before all services and drivers are loaded

I've tried to boot this thing hundreds of time (by all the captains of the Enterprise, I wish I had kept a log of all the boot attempts) and the freeze really does happen at all four of those points.