Sign in with
Your question

Opinions on cooling on both liquid/air

Last response: in Overclocking
April 7, 2008 3:48:15 PM

I'm kind of new to the whole custom pc scene, with only 3 builds under my belt. with each build I'm finding myself getting into new things. I have a slightly older socket 939 build and will most likely upgrade towards the middle of summer when I can actually afford quality parts and I want to see where AMD ends up. For the sake of simplicity however, lets assume I'm making the switch to a 775 quad, as I most likely will. I have not yet decided if I want to air cool or venture into liquid cooling. I've read the differences in two and I guess I just want your guys' opinions. Would I be better off lapping my cpu and heatsink or look at installing liquid cooling. As this would be my first time with liquid cooling I would more that likely get an all in 1 kit as I dont know that much about it. I will most likely overclock, to what extent, I cant be sure. A rough idea of what Ill have in my next build consisting of some current parts and some that will be purchased follows:

OCZ GameXStream 700 watt PSU
Antec 900 Case (currently 5 fans running)
right now 8800 GT (unless a breakthrough in that price range emerges in 9 series)
4 or 8 GB RAM depending on budget
More than likely ASUS or gigabyte higher end mobo to go with intel 775 quad

so what advice do you all have? Obtain better air cooling with a good cooler and try lapping? Or Should I venture into the land of liquid cooling?
thanks all
April 7, 2008 7:22:38 PM

vote...Air
April 7, 2008 8:09:25 PM

Well, alot depends on exactly what you plan on doing with your rig as far as o'clocking is concerned (coupled with, say, certain enviromental conditions like if you run AC, how hot it gets where your rig is located, etc.)