Is my GFX card dying?!

Rantici

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2007
Hi, I have a Radeon X1950XTX card which I got about a year ago

On Friday I bought Crysis. I started playing it and everything worked fine

Suddenly the screen became really bright and I could only make out very dark details

I quit the game and restarted Crysis. The bright effect had gone but in its place there were sparkling circles of red and green dots arranged in a grid pattern all over the screen (most pronounced where the screen was dark)

I got the latest drivers and updated my PC but the effect was still there so I tried it in Portal (which I have never had any problems with) and dammit it was happening in Portal too!

Is my GFX card dying? I was considering getting another one to CF with the one I already have but that's obviously a bad idea if it's terminal...

Any help / advice appreciated - I took a screenshot but I have no way of uploading it to the web unless anyone has a suggestion?

Cheers, Dan

Full PC Spec if it will help:
MOBO - MSI 975X Platinum
CPU - C2Duo E6600
GFX - Radeon X1950XTX
RAM - 2 x 1G Corsair PC6400
Some hard drives

starcraftfanatic

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2007
it's probably overheating, like above said, try to go to CCC and change the fan speed to 100 percent if it's not there already. Minimize Crysis after about 3 minutes of hard work and tell us the temps before and after fan speed change.

kingoftherings

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2007
I honestly didn't think Crysis would actually kill GPUs. :D

Sounds like its badly overheating, but I don't know why its having trouble with Portal all of a sudden...

aznstriker92

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2007

Go to http://www.imageshack.us/
and upload and paste the forums html.
I think that its either that your GFX card can't handle the graphic setting you have it at or its overheating/artifacting. If it plays other games fine, then its not dying.
Dont get the latest driver (7.11). Get the hotfix driver at ATI.