Motherboard and Memory problems, UGH

slidai

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2006
Sorry if this has been posted 100 times before, but here is my issue.

I have some 4GB (2x2gb) Gskill memory. The F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ.

I have a Gigabyte P35 board but apparently i was a noob and didn't realize it was crossfire not sli. I have a Q6600 and a 8800GTX. Everything works perfectly fine and it runs great. but i want SLI for higher res gaming and what not.

So i ordered a P5N32-E Sli boad. One with the 680i northbridge. So when i got it home, i knew there was a chance that my memory wouldn't work. When i attached everything, the computer started up but never got to post, just shut down right after i saw the Asus logo on the screen.

I assume since everything else works on my other set up, that the CPU, Memory, Video Card and all that are fine. I am 99.9% sure its the memory. I have some Kingston memory from a guy at work that i am going to try when i get home...

Is there any board out there, that anyone has which supports full 16x sli and uses this memory? I like the memory so i dont want to send it back but if i need to change brands, let me know. And if so.. can anyone give some choices that will work with the P5N32-E SLI? I wanna go 8gb and yes i have xp pro 64

chookman

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2007
First id try resetting the CMOS on the board... either by jumper or battery removal and see if this works.

Have you got everything plugged in correctly?

Try only one stick of RAM and see if this works.

If still no, you can try booting with you friends RAM if you can get into the BIOS change the RAM voltages CAS and frequency for the Gskill save and install the gskill back in the board. The main reason these things will not boot with some ram sticks is the default bios settings maynot run the ram correctly.