Help first time build...pc shuts down back on shuts down

jojo_61

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2007
I'm new at building so might not be familar with the pc language. so plase excuse me ahead time. Any assist greatly appreciated!!

Here's my parts:

Mobo Gigabyte GA-p35C DS3R
Intel E6850
MSI 8800 GTS 640MB
PSU Coolermaster Real Pwr 650
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4DHX 2Gb (1gb each)
WD Raptor X (kinda nosy when its loading lots of scratching sounds)
Cm Stacker 830 Case

I think i plug everything correctly or at least i hope. Installed xp did my window udpates then asks my to restart. Restarted now it boots up for about 3secs or so back fan spins. processor fan starts to spin then shuts off. then repeats it self over and over until i turn off the power from behind. Nothing on screen just blank/black screen. Whats the problem? Can someone please help.

Is there a light indicator that when you plug when psu to the pc you know the mobo have power like intel mobo. there a green light to know everyting is good. Dont' have a clue if mobo is fried or not.

I'd take the case power switch out of the equation by unhooking it from mobo and then manually shorting the pins on the mobo to start PC. Probably not a bad switch but it could be and this is easy to rule out, sometimes they malfunction and you get a start, stop, start loop going like this. This is worth a shot but it's probably something else.

Could be bad power supply, bad mobo, or maybe a short somewhere. Try booting with nothing hooked up except power, cpu (and fan) video card and 1 stick of ram (only one) and monitor. Be sure all drives and usb devices are unhooked. Also re-seat video card and ram in this process and check and dbl check all power connections - main, cpu 12v aux, and video card.