Sign in with
Your question

$1,053. My FIRST build. AMDX2-6400/8800GT. Comments? Concerns? Advice?

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
November 28, 2007 4:30:37 AM

Hey everyone!

First off, When researching benchmarks and reviews i always find myself clicking on this site in google. I've decided I would like to be a part of the forum community.
This site helped me ALOT. I have a greater understanding of computer hardware and such from this site. Thanks :D 

This is my first time building a computer. I've been taking an IT class, and learned a lot. I think my skills are decent enough to take a shot at building my own computer.
It's gonna be a Christmas present. I haven't had a new computer in....5 years. lmao :p 

I'm trying my best to keep this new build in the $1,000-$1,150 range

THIS WILL BE A GAMING COMPUTER.

A couple concerns I have are:
PSU : Enough wattage? ; Will I have enough wattage if I would like to upgrade? ;
OEM PRODUCTS : are drivers hard to find?
FANS : I will be making an acrylic side panel, will four 140mm case fans fit on it?
Compatibility : I have checked and double checked, it seems like I have everything set, but did I miss anything?
VISTA : Is DX10 worth it?
CPU Cooler : I heard the zalman 9700 NT uses a 4pin power connector on the MOBO. Will anything else be using that 4pin connection on the mobo?
OVERCLICKING : I have never overclocked anything before. Can I simply overclock the cpu by changing some settings in the BIOS? How about the memory? The graphics card can be overclocked from the nvidia graphics card program correct?

Comments, concerns, and advice are insanely appreciated. This new build is going to be purchased very soon for Christmas.

CASE $15.99 - Rosewill R220-P-BK ATX Mid Tower case

MOBO $84.99 - GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 ATX motherboard

GFX $299.99 - EVGA GeForce 8800GT Superclocked 512MB 256-bit

PSU $124.99 - CORSAIR ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply