Please Help - Choosing The Right Components

Iclone

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2007
Hello,

Iam going to make my first system build, and I will be mainly be using this computer for gaming. Of course since it is my first time building I will have my friend, who is a professional with computers, to help me build. I came to these forums because I seek information. I’ve been on those gaming computer websites like Alienware, HP Blackbird, and Dell XPS. And all these computers average $5000. I would like not just a regular gaming computer but one of the highest quality/ performance ones I can get.

All information given to me will be taken into great thought and will be appreciated.

I am not on a budget build so tell me everything your thoughts desire.

Yes I would like a 24" monitor or larger, but sadly I cant because I just got my new desk which looks really nice, but that way its built I cant fit a monitor any larger than 24"

Will SLI really be needed for me? Since I will only be running a 24" maximum.

Iam not a complete "noob" to computer components, I know what Iam looking for and Ive checked out charts and done my research.

I will be building my computer around these components: Intel, Nvidia, Corsair, Western Digital, Hitachi. For the motherboard, I like Gigabyte and ASUS the most, But I've heard ASUS has many problems on alot of boards.
680i, X38, 780i, or X48?

I currently have a Laptop and Desktop, both cant handle the new games, The desktop Is nearly 6 years old. And the Laptop is 2 years old.

DDR2 or DDR3? Why or Why Not? With the new 45nm DDR3 would be extremely fast? Also Future proof if I get DDR3.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 for 45nm
RAM: 4Gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066MHz
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB
Storage:
PSU:
Video Card:
Motherboard:
Case:
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-FI Fata1ity
Optical Drive:

X38 probably because I would like the new 45nm processers. But I do also want SLI, I might have to wait for the 780i.

Iclone