Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Computer keeps shutting down when playing games. Can anyone help?

Tags:
  • Gigabyte
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
December 22, 2007 6:02:17 AM

I just put together a new system and everything seemed to be working great, that is, until I started playing a few games. Everytime I launch Crysis or Wow (the only two I have reinstalled so far), my computer just shuts down. It doesn't shut down immediately upon starting, but only after it's been in the game for a couple minutes. After it shuts down, I have to either unplug the cord from the power supply or unplug it directly from the motherboard.

I have a Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2h, AMD X2 6000, GeForce 88000GTX, 4GB Crucial Memory, 450 Watt Power Supply.

I'm posting this under the Gigabyte motherboard section because it seems like a mb issue to me. I thought the CPU might be overheating, so I took off the heat sink, and reapplied the thermal compound. After that, I checked to see if the CPU is overheating and it seems okay. I've installed all the latest drivers for the video card.

Has anyone had a similar problem with this motherboard? Any suggestions?

Also, can anyone direct me to a resource how to fix the Windows XP and 3GB memory limitation?

THANKS!

More about : computer shutting playing games

December 22, 2007 6:58:57 AM

What brand power supply do you have and how many amps on the 12v rails? 450 watts seems low! I bet my bottom dollar that you do not have enough amps on the 12v rails causing your power supply to overwork itself then reach a temperature that causes it to shutdown. You need to meet the minumum power requirements which are 30 Amps on the 12v rails.