Closed Solved

Dimension 2400 Drivers?

Hey guys,
I inherited a computer so I figured I'd reformat it and re-install XP Pro. Since doing this I realized I don't have any driver disks, and that XP didn't even have an ethernet driver for the computer so I can't use the internet to get them. How would you all recommend I get the drivers? I found this website but I don't know what to do with them once their downloaded on my second machine? What route would you all go? I was thinking I could throw the .bin file for the ethernet driver on a flash drive from my other machine, then get the internet working on the dell and use it to download the rest as I see necessary. Which are really necessary to get? Just like ethernet, video, sound?

Also how do I go about installing the drivers I download? Do I just double click the .bin file and it'll open the appropriate application or do I have to go into the device manager and point to the .bin file? I have some experience with doing this, but not enough to remember how to do it. It'd be nice to have a brief summary or a step by step walkthrough. I remember it being quite simple though.

Thanks a ton guys!
8 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about dimension 2400 drivers
  1. Installing driver's shouldn't be difficult for any PC user.
    Just move the install files (of the drivers) to the Dell PC, extract (if they archived in RAR/ZIP file) and install them.

If you need more detailed explanation - just say and I'll help as much as I can.
  2. http://search.dell.com/index.aspx?c=us&s=gen&l=en&ec=k&ira=False&cat=prod&advsrch=False

Click on "Drivers and Downloads"
    Select Product Type
    Select Product Model
    Press GO
  3. He said that his already got the drivers from dell website, he just don't know what to do with them / how to install them.
  4. Alright thanks guys, that was rediculously easy. I shouldn't have even wasted the server space on that post lol.